+ Reply to Thread

Thread: hiatal hernia repair question

hiatal hernia repair question

One doctor said i could have a hiatal hernia repair.

do they ever do just this with out the nissen wrap?

Also, has anyone been to a chiropractor to get adjusted for this and to have them pull the stomach down where it belongs.?

Ellie

I don't know specifically about those questions but I hope you read my reply to your post concerning Fundoplication in the Tampa area. I am a USF student that just met with Dr. Rosemurgy at Tampa General today. He is going to do my surgery on Dec. 23 and I highly recommend him. His fellow relayed that he has done over 800.

Ellie,

From the research that I have done through doctors and the internet it is very improbable that a doctor will do a hiatal hernia repair without a fundo. This is because there is no evidence to suggest that just repairing a HH will result in a stronger LES and even if it was done methods used today would probably lead to re-herniation in a short time. I wish the opposite were true.

-Dante

How about...

Hi Ellie,

I agree with Dante about the fundo, but the "Hill Repair" is another possibility if the HH is a small one.

Many people have hiatal hernias and do not have reflux.
    If an injury like a car crash with whiplash or some heavy lifting preceeded the onset of reflux,
    then, that may require surgery to repair the attachment where the esophagus meets the diaphragm.
    Maybe another opinion would be wise before jumping into surgery?

I hope you can still have some turkey tomorrow.
    Happy Thanksgiving regardless. :?)

The Pard

I think it would be a waste of time to repair the hernia and not have the fundo. The reflux is where the real problem is not the hernia. A chiropractic adjustment would not pull the hernia down. Most hernias slide up and down themselves.

Right about the hernia adjustment

Hi Maxx,
    Remember a few months ago when somone mentioned