+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Melatonin For Gerd

Melatonin For Gerd

Hello all,

I haven't posted in awhile, and that's mainly because I have found almost full relief from heartburn through the use of 3mg of melatonin nightly (along with one nexium in the morning, which was my prior regimen). I've been cycling on and off of it now for about 4 months, and have noticed that symptoms weaken and go away while I'm on it, and return when I'm off of it. So I feel pretty confident saying that it is what is doing the trick.

It is hypothesized that melatonin reduces GERD by minimzing TLESR's, tightening the sphincter, reducing stomach acid production, and exerting a protective effect on esophageal tissue.

Here is the published scientific research correlating the use of melatonin with GERD symptom relief and other GERD-relevant changes:

The potential therapeutic effect of melatonin in GastroEsophageal Reflux Disease.

[url]http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20082715[/url]

Melatonin for the treatment of Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease

[url]http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18616070[/url]

Protective Effect of Melatonin Against Acute Esophageal Legions

[url]http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17622703[/url]

Regression of Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease Using Melatonin

[url]http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16948779[/url]

An added benefit of melatonin is that it helps you get to sleep, and to get deeper sleep.