Low carb versus SCD diet

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Low carb versus SCD diet

Hello, I am new to the forum. I am a 33 year old professional singer and LPR has has been devastating to my life.

My LPR started last June and I have had a horrible sore throat that fluctuates from extremely painful to a dull, throbbing pain. My doctor put me on prilosec in the am and then nexium at night for 5 months and that did nothing. I am now on 2x day of protonix as of four weeks ago. No difference yet. I took a 24 hour ph study that showed excessive reflux.

I initially followed the reflux diet with no relief. Coffee and peanut butter (which I gave up in June 08) seem to be the only foods that really bother me. Otherwise, I am the same whether I do a juice fast or eat a full meal. In fact, liquids seem to bother me more. If I really good with my diet I am no better than if I eat crap all day.

So, I have started the SCD diet (I also developed IBSD during all of this) and have read that it can help with LPR. I also am interested in the low carb diet. I have tried these both before and didn't see much relief.

So my question is: Has anyone seen relief on the SCD diet? How long before the low carb diet started to help?

Also, my hair has been falling out since all of this started, and I don't believe it is related to medication because I went two months without any medication at all and still had hair loss. Has anyone else experienced this? Whole food passes through me since the onset of IBS and I wonder if it is a malabsorption problem.

THANK ALL OF YOU SO MUCH. This has been so difficult to navigate. I even went to the Mayo Clinic and no one seems to know how to help. LPR is so frustrating!
    Last edited by guitarnola; 03-18-2009, 01:50 PM. Reason: spelling

guitarnola