Post op Nissen Fundoplication

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Post op Nissen Fundoplication

Hi I have never written on these forums before but have always read them! I live in the UK and had my anterior nissen fundoplication 11 days ago after years of suffering from reflux! It turned out I also had a hiatus hernia! I was looking for some advice as I must admit the after care from my hospital has not been great at all, I was not given any advice when I was discharged!

I started on a liquid diet for 7 days then advanced to thicker soups but yesterday and today when I was swallowing apple juice or milk I had severe pain in my chest that I could only describe as feeling like a lot of trapped gas it made it impossible to swallow and took ages to calm down! Has anyone else experienced this and if its normal! I am 39 years old and had reflux for 15 years but severe in the last 7! I am also noticing today I have a lot of phlegm in my throat.

I realise I'm in the early stages of recovery but just wondered if anyone had any advice.

Thanks

Congratulations on your surgery! What you are experiencing is pretty normal. The issue is that you likely aren't ready for more challenging food (not that what you're eating could be called "food" exactly.... ) Drop back to liquids, and once you're feeling OK, slowly and gradually introduce thicker liquids, until you are comfortable with them full-time. Then you can start having soft food. If you're like me, you probably will have to drop back a few times and gradually re-introduce a more difficult level. Your innards are still healing and it takes time.

Surgeons seem to be fond of telling us that recovering is easy. But it is not. It takes time. It will happen though! Hang in there and keep us posted!

If my suggestions don't work, and you're still feeling this way in another week, call your surgeon. But if you do what I suggest, you likely will be fine.

Comment