Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Surgery and Support

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting. It's a long story, so I hope you'll bear with me. I'm mostly looking for support I guess. I found this site while researching surgery for GERD. I've had GERD for most of my life and was diagnosed as a pre-teen. I've been on twice-daily PPIs since then. I'm now 26.

I was always told that I would be a good candidate for surgery when I got older. So a few months ago, a maxed out deductible in hand, I got a bunch of testing done at Virginia Mason in Seattle. 24-hour pH, manometry, upper GI, CT scan, Barium swalllow, gastric emptying, etc. The surgeon I was working with told me he could do the surgery (full Nissen), but it was up to me. Everything points to a defective LES with no trouble swallowing or emptying.

I'm not experiencing pain, but I am getting reflux at night and sometimes during the day. My sleep is disrupted and I'm starting to get hoarse. When I was younger, one of the more severe results of my reflux was forming nodules on my vocal folds, resulting in losing my voice for about a year. My DeMeester score is about 60.

I have a good support system currently, an understanding work environment, good insurance, and would be able to recover with family. But the surgeon's ambivalence about the necessity of surgery made it a difficult choice. He said, "I don't know what I would do if I were in your position."

Because I was unsure about the Nissen (and surgery generally), I scheduled a second opinion appointment at Swedish in Seattle to occur before a pre-op appointment and surgery at Virginia Mason. Unfortunately, my second opinion doc cancelled on me last minute so that he could give a lecture at UW.

So that's when I had to make a decision - go through with the surgery anyway or cancel the surgery and reschedule with Swedish. I chose a different doc at Swedish, one I heard about on this forum - Dr. Aye.